MySQL Community Award Winners

come from:

25 April 2006 - In their morning keynote presentation at the MySQL Users
Conference, company founders Monty Widenius and David Axmark announced the
winners of the 2006 MySQL Community Awards.

Giuseppe Maxia: Community Contributor of the Year

"In recognition of outstanding efforts in the area of technical
contribution to the MySQL Community. This award is given to an
individual who has displayed remarkable commitment to the MySQL
community by delivering quality code contributions, bug reports, and
technical documentation and writing."

Roland Bouman: Community Forum Leader of the Year

"This awards recognizes an individual who has displayed remarkable
efforts to assist and guide others on the MySQL forums this year.
Posting sometimes more than fifty times in a single day, this individual
should be commended for his insightful, committed, and always cheerful
assistance to all in the MySQL Community"

Markus Popp: Community Writer of the Year

"Recognizing achievement in the arena of writing technical articles
solely for the benefit of the MySQL Community. This individual has
written scores of blog entries, detailing technical issues and scenarios
with MySQL, and written countless articles on numerous websites. All
this, while maintaining a free MySQL 5 testing and training website for
the MySQL community."

Rasmus Lerdorf: Long-term Contributor to the MySQL Community

"This award goes to the Father of the standards-defying LIMIT statement.
He has inspired our founders to build a community around MySQL. He is
one of the most recognised names in Open Source. He is the guy behind
the OS project that has contributed the most to the spreading of MySQL.
And, as our founders put it and I can attest to myself, he is a person
you can run into anywhere in the world."